All Hands in the Air for the Big City

Dear Family, friends and all the random people I’ve met thru this blog,

I am writing this blog post with tears running down my face. 3 hours ago, I was just doing my normal internet routine: I checked my Twitter, checked my Facebook, my blog and my email, I even checked the Nokia and Elle page, just to see if the results were posted already. Not that I was expecting to win, for me, having a job in the fashion industry was enough, enough to keep me going, enough to keep my fashion dreams alive.

Then my Pink Nokia N8 rang and I even asked my mom to get it for me, I saw a different number, someone foreign, I guess. I thought it was my sister or probably my father who were both living overseas. And so a girl talked, asking me if I was Isabelle Valentos and I said yes. The moment she said her name, my heart pumped 5x times faster than the normal. Her voice was blurry, but I heard these words clearly

“YOU HAVE BEEN CHOSEN TO BE PART OF THE TOP 8 FINALISTS TO BE SENT TO NEW YORK CITY TO COVER FOR THE NY FASHION WEEK”

She said the judges loved my style portfolio, that they appreciated all the hard work that I have put into this competition.

NEW YORK FASHION WEEK, FRONT ROW SEATS, BACKSTAGE PASSES, MEETING WITH THE RESPECTIVE ARTISTS OF THE MODERN ERA (DESIGNERS, EDITORS, STYLISTS, PHOTOGRAPHERS, BLOGGERS)

No words could express how happy I am, I screamed, I cried, I jumped and my mind was literally flying and probably sitting on the cloud 9.

I really would like to take this opportunity to thank all of you, for all those who voted for me and asked their friends to vote for me, for those who never get tired of re-tweeting my plugs and all those who commented and liked my portfolio. I also like to thank my family, my sisters especially Ate Geng (Aby Valentos) who really supported me all throughout and to her boyfriend Jay Jallorina for being so patient with me during the shoot! To Nokia and Elle, for this wonderful opportunity

And for all those who believed, thank you. None of these could ever be possible without all of your help, I can only promise you guys one thing. I will make the Filipinos proud! Manila Represent! 🙂

 

Thank you. To God be the Glory.

12 thoughts on “All Hands in the Air for the Big City

  1. Tricia

    Congrats Intet! you deserve it, hard work really pays off!! Can’t wait for your pics from NYC!! God Bless You Always!! =)

Leave a Reply

